Get Adobe Flash player

Board of Supervisors


This three-member board is comprised of elected officials who each serve six-year terms. As regulated by the second-class township code, the Supervisors hold an annual organizational meeting the first Monday in January. At this meeting, they elect a Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson and Secretary among themselves. They also appoint residents to other municipal boards and community committees. The responsibilities of the Board include enacting Ordinances and Resolutions, establishing policies and measures to promote the general welfare of the Township.




  John Marcischak, Secretary Term 2014-2019.

John is the Township Secretary of the Chartiers Township Board of Supervisors. John and his wife Darlene have raised three children and lived in Chartiers Township since 1974. He served twelve years on the Chartiers-Houston School Board and was Board President for two years. He served on the Chartiers Township Park and Recreation Board for over ten years. John held various positions as a school administrator and recently retired as Supervisor in the Juvenile Probation Department in the Washington County Court System.




 A. William Kiehl A.William Kiehl, Chairman  Term 2012-2017

Mr. Kiehl is Chairman of the Board of Supervisors. He retired from John P. Sorice Trucking Company as a Driver and worked at Cooper Power Systems for 30-years as an Assembler. Bill and his wife Connie are members of the Canonsburg UP Church.



Richard Metzler Richard Metzler, Vice Chairman,   Term 2010-2016

Mr. Metzler is Vice-Chairman of the Board of Supervisors. Rich and his wife Joyce have resided in Chartiers Township since 1977 and have two children and four grandchildren. Rich has served on many community activities including: the Chartiers-Houston Community Library Board, CH School Board, Allison Park Elementary School Parent Faculty Organization, Chartiers-Houston Athletic Association, and CH Band Parents Organization. Rich is a self-employed respiratory protection consultant and retired Director of the CDC National Personal Protective Technology Laboratory.