Get Adobe Flash player

Police Department

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

IRS SCAM HOTLINE: 1-800-366-4484

The Chartiers Township Police Department is staffed with 13 full-time police officers who provide around-the-clock law enforcement for the Township’s residents and businesses. The Department, boasting more than 200 years of combined law enforcement experience, is headed by 42-year veteran Chief James M. Horvath who directs and oversees the Department’s operation.  Det. Sgt. Steven Horvath and Det. Sgt. Michael Filosi head up the investigations. Sgt. Ronald Raymond and Sgt. Anthony Popeck act in the capacity of shift supervisors. Ptlm. Harry Miller, Ptlm. Charles Stevenson, Ptlm. Donald Cooper, Ptlm. Edgar Ellis, Ptlm. Patrick Conley, Ptlm. Ashley Price, Ptlm. Jesse Broda and Ptlm. Amanda Brewer complete the complement of officers.

All officers are certified and attend continuous training in an effort to afford the Township’s residents the best law enforcement has to offer. Every officer is cross-trained and certified in a number of areas. For example, two officers maintain certification to instruct ALICE active shooter training, providing training in our schools, churches and a number of Township businesses. Anyone wishing to request ALICE training for their business should contact the Police Department for scheduling.

Due to the increasing amount of truck traffic passing through the Township, one officer is certified to conduct commercial vehicle inspections (MCSAP). Two more officers maintain State certification to inspect and install child safety seats and are available to the residents by appointment.

In addition, several programs are provided to the Chartiers-Houston School District, from driver education to stranger danger. Every other year, in conjunction with the Chartiers Township Volunteer Fire Department and local EMS, the Police Department participates in the Prom Promise demonstration to reinforce to students the dangers of drinking and driving, especially during the prom and graduation season. The Department is especially proud of its DARE program which has been presented to the Allison Park Elementary sixth grade students without interruption since 1999. The Department has also been recognized and has received many awards presented by the State and County for its work within the community.

The goal of every Officer is to make our community a safer place to live, work and raise our families.

In the event of emergency, the Department can be reached by calling 911. Otherwise, please call 724.745.8030. If you need to reach a specific police officer, please select the extensions below when prompted and you will receive a return call at their earliest convenience. Email addresses are also provided for your convenience.

 

 

Chief James M. Horvath…………. jhorvath@chartierstwp.com……………. Ext. 214

Sgt. Steven M. Horvath………….. shorvath@chartierstwp.com…………….. Ext. 205

Sgt. Michael A. Filosi…………… mfilosi@chartierstwp.com……………….. Ext. 215

Sgt. Ronald P. Raymond………. rraymond@chartierstwp.com……………. Ext. 304

Sgt. Anthony S. Popeck……….. apopeck@chartierstwp.com……………… Ext. 396

Ptlm. Harry E. Miller… …………. hmiller@chartierstwp.com………………. Ext. 312

Ptlm. Charles E. Stevenson……. cstevenson@chartierstwp.com………… Ext. 325

Ptlm. Donald H. Cooper………… dcooper@chartierstwp.com……………. Ext. 340

Ptlm. Edgar J. Ellis Jr…………… eellis@chartierstwp.com……………….. Ext. 342

Ptlm. Patrick D. Conley…………. pconley@chartierstwp.com…………….. Ext. 333

Ptlm. Ashley L. Price…………….. aprice@chartierstwp.com………………. Ext. 315

Ptlm. Jesse A. Broda……………. jbroda@chartierstwp.com………………. Ext. 308

Ptlm. Amanda S. Brewer…………. abrewer@chartierstwp.com…………… Ext. 330